Beauty Question & Answer: How Avoid Dry Skin This Winter

Question: How Avoid Dry Skin This Winter

We all struggle with dry skin during the winter time! It’s not even winter here and my skin feels so dry it hurts! So I thought I could share some tips and tricks and some of my favorite products to help with dry skin, cuticles , hair and share some tips!

If you start using some of these products early on, your skin will be super soft, and you may avoid that dry winter skin!

Moisturize More

You want to switch up your moisturizer as the seasons get colder. You will need a thicker, oil based moisturizer that will really sink into your skin and keep it super moisturized. You want to moisturize every single day, twice a day is best! Another trick? Use moisturizer right after you get out the shower it will absorb into your skin faster!

Use a Humidifier

As the heat goes on and up, you want to make sure your air has moisture in it! Humidifiers will put moisture back in the air so the air is not super dry. It is great for keeping your skin soft and moisturizered. Another cool idea? Get one that allows you to put essential oils in it so you can add a soothing touch.

Hydrate

You have probably heard this a lot but it is so true! Make sure you are stll drinking a lot of water! It really does help your skin. Just remember the more water you drink the better your skin will look.

Grease Up Your Feet

Use thicker creams for the winter months. Try finding lotions that contain petroleum jelly or glycerine. Put on the lotion at night time then put on some cotton socks so it can absorb into your skin.

Short Lower Temp. showers

Hot water can dry out your skin! (This is a tough one for me because I just love hot showers) But you want to make sure that you use lukewarm water and try not to stand in super hot water for a long time. It will dry out your skin.

Keep a bottle of hand cream in your purse/ on your desk

I have done this for so long! Especially because hand soap can be drying! So make sure you carry hand lotion or cream on you at all times. Throughout the day I am constantly putting on hand lotion.

Switch to hydrating makeup

Or even hydrating primers! You just want to make sure your face doesn’t get super dry during the winter months making your makeup look bad! Tip for us oily skinned guys and girls out there- use a primer water to keep your skin moisturized, and a primer that isn’t too Matte! I love the Smashbox Oil Control Primer, it keeps me matte but not too matte where I look dry! The Cane & Austin is a great primer too.

My favorite products for winter:
I wanted to show you all some of my favorite products I use during the winter or colder months. I use these products daily!

LANEIGE Lip Sleeping Mask:
I love using this at night time. I slather on a lot on my lips and literally the next morning I wake up with super soft lips! In one use a I see such a difference.

LANEIGE Lip Glowy Balm:
I use this on top of lipsticks or by itself. I love the berry and the peach scents. I keep this in my purse at all times. It gives my lips such a pretty shine and really moisturizes my lips. It even stays on for a long time.

C.O. Bigelow ULTRA MENTHA Mentha Lip Shine:
I use this in the morning when I am getting ready for work as I do my makeup. This one from Bath & Body works has such a cooling sensation I love it. I use it by itself to hydrate my lips, or on top of lipstick for a nice glossy finish. It is thick but not super thick where it is goopy.

L’OCCITANE Shea Butter Foot Cream:
I hate using foot creams that are too oily. It just irritates me! LOL I don’t like the feeling of being greasy. Well this is thick, doesn’t feel greasy and it really absorbs into my feet. I love using this after the shower and then putting on thick socks for the day. I also like to lather this on before bed and put on cotton socks so it get absorbed into my feet. After one use my feet feel a difference. I even use this during the summer because sandals are not kind to the feet!

Vaseline:
This has been around for ages and is seriously the best thing if you don’t want to buy different lotions. Just lather up the dry areas with some Vaseline and if possible wear socks or gloves to allow it to deeply sink into your skin. You can also put it on your lips for a lip mask, or even on top for a gloss type look.

FIRST AID BEAUTY Ultra Repair® Hydrating Serum:
This has seriously helped with my skin so much! During the winter months I am still very oily but I do get dry around my nose and chin area. So I use this morning and night to add in some extra hydration. This works very fast, after a few days moisture is applied back into your skin making it look great.

Tatcha INDIGO SOOTHING BODY BUTTER
This has helped to transform my skin so much. This is a thicker body butter so I like to use this at night time. It has such a nice scent, very spa like. It keeps me very calm and relaxed before bed! It is thick but doesn’t make my skin feel greasy and it really adsorbs into the skin. It is expensive but it does last a long time.

SMASHBOX Photo Finish Primer Oil
I actually just ordered this so I haven’t been able to test it out but I hear amazing things about this! It is so great if you are dry. You can mix it into your foundation too for a glowy finish and you can even use a little bit on top of your foundation with a beauty sponge to make sure certain areas have more hydration. So I want to try this around my nose and my under eyes (because certain concealers dry me out).

BRIOGEO Don’t Despair, Repair!™ Deep Conditioning Mask
This is the best hair mask I have ever used! Literally ever. I did a full review on it here. But this transformed my hair so much. Leave it on for 10 minutes for a deep conditioner, or 20 for even deeper hydration. Use it about one a week every other week for super soft hair!

Vitamin E
This is an oil that you can rub on your cuticles for some extra hydration. This will help your nails from peeling and keep them moisturized to avoid hangnails!

I hope you all enjoyed reading about tips and tricks and some of my favorite products for my dry skin, nails and hair!

What is your favorite trick for soft skin, nails or hair this fall and winter? Let me know in the comments down below.

xo,

Melissa

Say hello on my other forms of social media:
My Instagram: xoMelissa205
Twitter: _xxMelissa205
Pinterest: Melissarivera205

Let me know what video you want to see next in the comment section below! 
Discounts codes:On https://gerardcosmetics.com please use code: xoMelissa for 30% off your orderOn https://beautyusa.royalbrush.com/ use code “XOMELISSA” for 10% off your orderOn https://www.goldenstarbeauty.com/ use code “GOLDENTAN3” for 15% off your orderSave money while you shop with Ebates. Use this link for Ebates: https://www.ebates.com/r/MELISS74611?eeid=28187BoxyCharm Referal Link: https://www.boxycharm.com/refer/Melissa-LBAFNEIYMy Amazon store: https://www.amazon.com/shop/xomelissa205

Disclaimer: codes do provide me with money, rewards,  or reward points.  

Leave a comment